The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

USPTO Seeks Nominations for Prestigious National Medal of Technology and Innovation

06-Feb-2024 | Source : The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) | Visits : 1240

WASHINGTON - The US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is seeking nominations for the 2024 National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI). The NMTI is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement and is presented to recipients by the President of the United States, according to the official website of USPTO.

"The National Medal of Technology and Innovation recognizes the individuals and teams whose groundbreaking contributions have forever shaped our country's innovative fabric," said Kathi Vidal, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO. "Their crucial work has transformed industries, fostered economic growth, and advanced our society for the better. As we reaffirm our commitment to foster an inclusive culture of innovation, we invite nominations from all corners of our great nation: help us celebrate the people in our communities who combine creativity and expertise to forge a brighter, better future for us all."

The NMTI medal is awarded to individuals, teams (up to four individuals), and companies or divisions of companies for their outstanding contributions to the nation. The medal recognizes American innovators whose vision, intellect, creativity, and determination have strengthened America’s economy and improved our quality of life. 

Past laureates (medal recipients) include:

Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak for the invention of the personal computer (1985) 
Grace Murray Hopper for her pioneering accomplishments in the development of computer programming languages that simplified computer technology (1991) 
Jim West for co-inventing the electret microphone (2006) 
Frances Arnold for groundbreaking research on biofuels and chemicals that could lead to the replacement of pollution-generating materials (2011)
Rory A. Cooper for developing cutting-edge wheelchair technologies and mobility devices (2023)

Anyone can submit an NMTI nomination by using the online nomination form and providing letters of support. The USPTO must receive all nominations by 11:59 p.m. ET, May 3, 2024. 


Related Articles