The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

USPTO Announces New Public Advisory Committee Members

07-Dec-2023 | Source : The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) | Visits : 587

WASHINGTON - The US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) announced new membership to its Patent and Trademark Public Advisory Committees, composed of private-sector individuals who advise the agency on its patent and trademark operations, a press release stated by the Office.

New members of the USPTO’s Patent Public Advisory Committee (PPAC) include Lateef Mtima, Earl “Eb” Bright, and Marvin Slepian, while the new members of the Trademark Public Advisory Committee (TPAC) are Valerie Calloway, Nehal Madhani, and Douglas Masters (all bios for the new Public Advisory Committee (PAC) members below).

Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo, in consultation with Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and USPTO Director Kathi Vidal, appoints committee members to serve three-year rotating terms. The committees were created through the Patent and Trademark Office Efficiency Act statute in the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999.

Secretary Raimondo and Director Vidal have designated Loletta Darden as the PPAC Chair and Charles Duan as the PPAC Vice Chair, and Adraea Brown as the TPAC Chair and Amy Hsiao as the TPAC Vice Chair. Outgoing PAC members include Susan G. Braden, Dan Brown, Steve Caltrider, David Cho, Jomarie Fredericks, and Tracy Deutmeyer.

“The Patent and Trademark Public Advisory Committees are vital in helping our agency advance innovation, with PAC members serving as fierce advocates for the immense value of intellectual property protection in our society and strengthening our service to all stakeholders,” said Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO Kathi Vidal. “We are grateful for the passionate service of our outgoing PAC members—Steve, Dan, Judge Braden, David, Jomarie, and Tracy—who have all elevated the work of our PACs to new heights. I am also thrilled to welcome our new members and chairs to their esteemed positions and greatly look forward to all that we will accomplish together. I am excited to work with Loletta and Adraea in their leadership roles to further expand our innovation ecosystem.”

“I am honored to lead the PPAC, and I look forward to working to serve the interests of the country’s IP community in ways that enhance national and global competitiveness and accelerates growth in GDP. I invite USPTO stakeholders, entrepreneurs, and innovators to engage with us as we advise the USPTO in the important work of driving innovation and entrepreneurship for the benefit of all,” said newly-appointed PPAC Chair Loletta Darden.

“I am honored and excited to serve as this year's TPAC chair and look forward to advising the USPTO during such an important time on matters that impact entrepreneurship, drive innovation, and encourage brand creation and growth,” said newly-appointed TPAC Chair Adraea Brown.


Related Articles