The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

Abu-Ghazaleh Invited to Join the Bretton Woods Committee

23-Oct-2014 | Source : | Visits : 6718
Special to ag-IP-news Agency
WASHINGTON, D.C - HE Dr. Talal Abu-Ghazaleh, chairman of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Organization (TAG-Org), was invited to become a member of the Bretton Woods Committee. 
With its Honorary Co-Chairs President George Bush and President Jimmy Carter, the Bretton Woods Committee has been - for over thirty years - the nonpartisan network of prominent global citizens, which works to demonstrate the value of international economic cooperation and to foster strong, effective international financial institutions (IFIs) as forces for global well-being.
Members of the Committee, who are being selected by invitation only, are leaders at the top of the business, academic and non-profit sectors; they are influencers from every region of the world, including industry CEOs, international policymakers, and former US Cabinet officials and lawmakers, they champion efforts to spur economic growth, alleviate poverty, and advance worldwide financial stability.
Being recognized as one of the most influential leaders in the Arab world and on the international scene, with lifetime achievements, distinctions and outstanding contributions to education, accountancy, intellectual property, business administration and management, commerce, ICT, science and technology, law and related fields, the Committee expressed its belief that Dr. Abu-Ghazaleh’s membership constitutes a “valuable addition” to the Committee.
President Gerald R. Ford was the past honorary co-chair of the Committee created in 1983 at the suggestion of two former Treasury officials - Secretary Henry Fowler and Deputy Secretary Charls Walker, who saw the need for an organized effort to ensure that leading citizens spoke about the importance of the IFIs. Other prominent Committee members include Paul A. Volcker, James D. Wolfensohn, William E. Frenzel, Jim Kolbe in addition to others.
The Bretton Woods institutions were created in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire in 1944 at the United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference, during which a family of institutions to address critical issues in the international financial system were created, these institutions included: International Monetary Fund, World Bank Group, International Finance Corporation (IFC), and World Trade Organization among others.
The Bretton Woods Committee organizes frequent conferences, seminars, and educational activities. Many of these events are designed to reach a broad public audience, while others offer members the opportunity to provide important advice, support, and constructive criticism to the management of the IFIs. 
Through these activities, the Committee aims to explore current issues in Finance, Development and Trade; advance the evolution of the IFIs; educate and engage with lawmakers and policymakers.
At its annual meetings, the Committee assessed the priorities for the Bretton Woods institutions, the role of the private sector in global development and finance, and US leadership within the IFIs. Committee members engaged with a speaker lineup that included former Federal Reserve Board of Governors Chairman Paul Volcker; IMF Managing Director Christie Lagarde; World Bank President Jim Yong Kim; US Senator John McCain; former PIMCO CEO Mohamed El-Erian; Citigroup Senior Advisor Bill Rhodes; and Inter-American Development Bank President Alberto Moreno. Other members include former US Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, Dr. Lawrence H. Summers, and also several notable national security, defense, and military experts such as Secretary James Baker, Dr. Henry Kissinger, and General Brent Scowcroft.

Related Articles