The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global


Exceptional Inventors from Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, UK, Japan and the US Honored with European Inventor Award 2014

17-Jun-2014 | Source : AG-IP News | Visits : 7949
Special to ag-IP-news Agency 
BERLIN/MUNICH – The European Patent Office (EPO) presented the European Inventor Award 2014 today in Berlin in a ceremony widely regarded as Europe’s “technology and innovation Oscars”. The award honors outstanding inventors for their contribution to social, economic and technological progress. The award ceremony, held at the former Kaiserliches Telegrafenamt (Imperial Telegraph Office) in Germany’s capital, was attended by some 500 guests from the fields of business, science, culture and politics, including German Federal Minister of Justice and Consumer Protection Heiko Maas.
The international jury selected the winners from 15 finalists, themselves selected from over 300 proposals for individual inventors and inventor teams put forward for the 2014 award. The winners are: Artur Fischer (Germany) in the category “Lifetime achievement”, Koen Andries/Jérôme Guillemont (Belgium/France) in “Industry”, Peter Holme Jensen (Denmark) in “Small and medium-sized enterprises”, Christofer Toumazou (UK) in “Research” and Charles W. (“Chuck”) Hull in “Non-European countries”. In addition, the Popular Prize was awarded to public favorite Masahiro Hara and his team, who received nearly 30% of the more than 20 000 votes cast online. 
The winners at a glance:
Lifetime achievement: With over 1 100 applications for patents and utility models, Artur Fischer (Germany) is one of the most prolific inventors of all time. His invention and namesake, the expansion plug (or “Fischer wall plug”) revolutionized the construction industry in 1958 and has been used billions of times around the world ever since. Other innovations which have earned him worldwide recognition include the first synchronised photo flash for cameras and his “fischertechnik” toy building sets.
Industry: Koen Andries (Belgium), Jérôme Guillemont (France) and team were distinguished for their efforts in developing the first new effective tuberculosis (TB) drug in 40 years. Thanks to the research team led by Andries and Guillemont, the disease – including multi-drug resistant forms – can now be treated successfully. The innovative drug quickly cuts off the energy supply in TB bacteria, significantly reducing treatment times and enabling a full recovery. 
Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs): Peter Holme Jensen, Claus Hélix-Nielsen and Danielle Keller (Denmark) received the Award for their invention of a water-purifying membrane coated with aquaporins, which purifies water without consuming large amounts of energy. The innovation of this Danish team of chemists relies on the natural filtering function of so-called aquaporins. Unlike conventional methods, it does not require an elaborate filtration system based on energy- and cost-intensive hydrostatic pressure. 
Research: Christofer Toumazou (United Kingdom) won in the Research category with his invention of a quick DNA test which can decipher the genetic makeup of individuals within minutes, without the need for lab work – a milestone along the path to innovative medical healthcare with a preventive focus. The innovation is based on a microchip that detects deviations in an individual human genome. The chip can be inserted into a USB stick, providing results that are viewable directly on a computer. 
Non-European countries: Charles W. Hull (United States) received the European Inventor Award for his invention of 3D printing – a technology that is currently in use in numerous fields and that has triggered a veritable revolution in manufacturing. Although a multitude of different procedures for 3D printing now exist, they all build on Hull’s original invention. 
Popular Prize: Masahiro Hara, Takayuki Nagaya and team (Japan): It is hard to imagine day-to-day life without the QR (Quick Response) code they invented. Among other things, it is used for managing inventory in factories, administering patient files, tracking biological samples and as a marketing tool. The QR code links the physical world with the virtual realm by means of a smartphone or tablet and the relevant app. 
The choice of the public was clear, as nearly 30% of the votes cast went to the Japanese team. Moreover, with over 20 000, the number of votes coming from around the world more than doubled over last year.
“Innovation is absolutely essential for Europe to generate growth and prosperity and secure its position among the leading industrial regions,” said EPO President Benoît Battistelli at the award ceremony. “All of the inventors we are honoring here today have introduced game-changing technological innovations in their respective fields. Their achievements improve people’s everyday lives, and represent substantial contributions to tackling major global challenges such as climate change, access to clean drinking water and improving health. Their ingenuity and creativity are indicative of Europe’s position as a leading technology region. And patents play a major role in protecting this status on a daily basis.”
Launched in 2006, the European Inventor Award is presented annually by the European Patent Office. The award honors inventive individuals and teams whose pioneering work provides answers to the challenges of our age and thereby contributes to social progress, economic growth and prosperity. Fifteen finalists and, subsequently, the winners are chosen from among the nominees by a high-profile international jury. The award is presented in five categories: Industry, Research, Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), Non-European countries, and Lifetime achievement. The general public voted online to select the winner of the Popular Prize from among the 15 finalists.
With approximately 7 000 employees, the European Patent Office (EPO) is one of the largest European public service institutions. Its headquarters are in Munich, and it also has offices in The Hague, Berlin, Vienna and Brussels. The EPO was founded with the aim of strengthening co-operation on patents in Europe. Through the EPO’s centralized patent granting procedure, inventors can obtain high-quality patent protection in the 38 member states of the European Patent Organization. The EPO is also the world’s leading authority in patent information and patent searching. 
A live stream of the European Inventor Award ceremony can be viewed on from 11.00 CET onwards
Users of Samsung and Toshiba Smart TV devices can view the show live from 11.00 CET onwards, and later on-demand using the “Innovation TV” Smart TV app of the European Patent Office.
The EPO will make audio-visual material of the ceremony and winners available in SD quality on as follows: 
14.15 CET: Handing over of the prize in the different categories: rough cuts
15.15 CET: Short interviews with the winners (English)
16.45 CET: Highlights video “Best of the 2014 Award” (English/French/German)

Related Articles